Back to your regularly scheduled blogging…

It’s now been eight days since the election, and a full week since we all woke up in the morning to the news that our next POTUS would be Donald Trump.

But I don’t want to talk about that anymore. Of course it still weighs on my mind, and I fully encourage peaceful activism (in fact, had I not gotten sick, I would have been a part of a protest at my university. I’ll be at the next one, though). But to an extent, life has to go back to normal. I still have to work, study, and wring what enjoyment I can out of life, and so do you all.

Yesterday was a rollercoaster! The day started out kind of badly; I got stuck in so much traffic on my way to an exam that even though I left early and took the most direct route, I was almost late. Then we found yet another water bug (which is in fact a type of roach, the oriental roach to be exact) in my apartment, even though my roommate and I are meticulously clean people. This makes the third in three months and two in the last week and a half. Needless to say, we are not happy. On the other hand, though, I also found out that I will officially be an undergraduate research assistant for the spring and fall semesters of next year, and I landed myself a seasonal position at home so that I can make some petty cash over break.

Next week is Thanksgiving, and I couldn’t be more excited. Not only does my job start, but I get to see my family and eat all the amazing food. I am thankful for all the good things that happen in my life, and honestly even for the bad things, because there would be no light without the dark. This post may seem a little pointless, but this blog is about the daily life of a college student, and most importantly I wanted to show that life does go on, even after bad things happen. We have to keep fighting for the good things.

Leave a Reply

